List of the Harmony Guides

Found this at Yarnmarket, I was looking for the complete list of the Harmony Guides series of stitch books. Craft snob that I am (!) I assumed that if volumes 6 and 7 were on crochet stitches, there must be 5 other crochet books I hadn’t read yet. This is the current list of available Harmony books. Some original volumes are out of print.

Posted for reference (italics mine):

# The Harmony Guide: 101 Stitches to Knit
boxed kit of 101 cards with booklet
# The Harmony Guides: 101 Stitches to Crochet
boxed kit of 101 cards with booklet
# The Harmony Guides: Cables & Arans
from the original Harmony Guides Vol 2, 3, & 5
# The Harmony Guides: Knit & Purl
from the original Harmony Guides Vol 2, 3, & 4
# The Harmony Guides: Lace & Eyelets
from the original Harmony Guides Vol & 3
# Harmony Guides Volume 1: Knitting Techniques
# The Harmony Guides: Basic Crochet Stitches
# Harmony Guides Volume 4: 250 Creative Knitting Stitches
# Harmony Guides Volume 6: 300 Crochet Stitches
# Harmony Guides Volume 7: 220 More Crochet Stitches

And from Amazon, listed by latest publication date:

  • The Harmony Guides: Colorwork Stitches: 250 Designs to Knit by Sharon Brant (Paperback – Jun 1, 2009)
  • The Harmony Guides: Crochet Stitch Motifs: 250 Stitches to Crochet by Erika Knight (Paperback – Jul 1, 2008)
  • The Harmony Guides: Basic Crochet Stitches: 250 Stitches to Crochet by Erika Knight (Paperback – April 1, 2008)
  • The Harmony Guides: Cables & Arans: 250 Stitches to Knit by Erika Knight (Paperback – Oct 1, 2007)
  • The Harmony Guides: Knit & Purl: 250 Stitches to Knit by Erika Knight (Paperback – Oct 1, 2007)
  • The Harmony Guides: Lace & Eyelets: 250 Stitches to Knit by Erika Knight (Paperback – Oct 1, 2007)
  • 220 More Crochet Stitches: Volume 7 (The Harmony Guides) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jan 1, 1999)
  • 300 Crochet Stitches (The Harmony Guides, V. 6) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jan 1, 1999)
  • 220 Aran Stitches and Patterns: Volume 5 (The Harmony Guides) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jul 1, 1998)
  • 250 Creative Knitting Stitches (The Harmony Guides, Vol. 4) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jul 1, 1998)
  • 440 More Knitting Stitches: Volume 3 (The Harmony Guides) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jul 1, 1998)
  • 450 Knitting Stitches: Volume 2 (The Harmony Guides) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jul 1, 1998)
  • Knitting Techniques: Volume 1 (The Harmony Guides) by The Harmony Guides (Paperback – Jul 1, 1998)
I’ve removed the links to the individual books due to some issues with wordpress advertising policy. Please check out used booksellers such as Powell‘s or AbeBooks and save a tree in the process.
Ravelry members can also access a list of posts regarding the guides here

4 Comments »

  1. Louise said

    I have a couple of Harmony Guides dating 1986 and 1987. I am interested in obtaining the whole series of them.

  2. Koko said

    I learned to crochet with vol. 7. I never could read crochet text instructions, and this was the first time I saw the patterns in symbol. It was amazing what a difference it made to “see” the stitches laid out in the pattern, and I made a lovely trellis-type baby blanket on my first try.
    I’ve been thinking about getting the original 300 stitches (vol. 6), but I want to make sure that it has the symbol diagrams like vol. 7 does.
    Does anyone know?

  3. Anonymous said

    Hello,
    I`m from Germany und just want to know, if I also can order these books anywhere….
    And I´d like to know how the instructions for knitting are explaned in these books, with charges ore only in words? I think they are all different? I prefer charts as my english isn´t good enough to understand all instructions without charts I fear…..
    Greetings from Germany
    Silvia Klimek

    • jchinique said

      Hi, The ones I listed are for crochet, not knitting. However you should be able to obtain the ones you want from Amazon.com – heres the link to Vol. 1:

      I think the knit guides started using charts in volums 4 and 5. Good luck!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment