Ripple-Along





Pattern from here:
Easy Ripple Afghan by SusanB

I have joined the denizens of the cult of ripple. As in the afghan meme, not Fred Sanford’s beverage of choice nor the lovely Grateful Dead classic. I got inspired by the idea of layers of color and all the feelings they evoke. Things start getting dour, and it’s time to liven it up with the bright and cheery. Spring is just around the corner and I’m excited about warm colors and pastels. My kids like helping me pick what’s next. I’m choosing colors as I go and trying new fibers. Which is a first for me – I don’t mind buying just a skein or two of nice wools to play with. (I’m cheap like that, though I’m well past the Boone’s farm stage.) I’m also using a lot of miscellaneous acrylics from my stash, yay!

I was also excited to try a new hook for this project. I picked up some older Phildars from eBay, they’re longer than the standard American fare. CGOA doesn’t list any statistics on why. I’ve seen some Inox and possibly Prym brand hooks like this too. I really like the longer length. It’s not like I have man-hands, they just feel more comfortable. Maybe because I’m left-handed, or the way I was taught. My Mom – a righty – would sit across from me so I could copy what she did. To this day I have to hold a mirror to some directions to learn a new stitch.

Project Linus recommends the pattern for charity projects. It’s an easy fast double crochet, and so far, I’m still pretty jazzed about it. Though I may only get half a row done on any particular day, the color changes provide me with motivation to get it done. I’m sure I’ll do more of these, now that I know the basic ripple theory. Check out Pumamouse’s site for a formula to customize your ripple, if you’re a bit mathematically inclined. Let’s see, I can fool around with different hill and valley heights, color combinations, stitch variations, it’s endless! I think a ridge of back-loop between changes would be nice. A super zig-zaggy black and white would be fun for a kids afghan or even a baby blanket. (Remember a few years ago when contrasty themes were purported to stimulate a newborn’s brain?) I’ve seen a Spiderman round ripple that looked cute too. Oooh, and a soft waved rainbow….oh, if I had as much time as I had ideas, I’d be rolling in yarny goodness!

.

Leave a Reply

